Go Poet

I attended my second poetry slam this weekend. Another great time and the venue was really awesome. The Piedmont Slam was held at the Winston Salem Delta Arts Center. It’s a beautiful gallery and the acoustics are great. I saw a lot of the same people from the previous event. It’s really nice to see the community they’ve built around spoken word poetry. I hope that my website can add to the community by showcasing the local talent. I again took my trusty zoom and recorded audio of the stellar performances. I also got to see Soulstice 7 perform which is awesome because my friend and classmate, Josh, is doing their website for his Capstone. Interestingly enough, I was also chosen to be a judge for the slam rounds. Hopefully I represented well, all of the poems were so great. I love the variety too. I heard sad poems, happy ones, funny ones, some about social issues and even on Michael Jackson.

piedmont slam

I am looking forward to meeting with Well Versed Expressions, a UNCG poet group next week.

Leave a Reply

