First Poetry Slam

Mili

I went to my first ever poetry slam last night for my Capstone project. I took my trusty recorder and drove to Greensboro for the 1st Annual Female Poetry Slam created by local poet group, PoetShe. PoetShe is Greensboro’s only female poetry and slam group. They work to plan community events workshops programming and events to enrich literacy, the arts, and women empowerment. The event was so fun. There was singing, there was poetry, and plenty of snaps and laughter. I was introduced to how a poetry slam actually works – there’s definitely some specific rules and traditions. If you’ve never been to a slam, check one out when you have a chance. It’s a really good time and there is some amazing talent locally. Above, I have a photo of a poet who goes by Mili – her poems were my favorite, along with the crowds’ because she won the slam!

Leave a Reply

